First Holly Prize Awarded

On June 8, 2010, the Songwriters Hall of Fame awarded the first-ever Holly Prize, a new award made possible by Songmasters and administered and juried by the Songwriters Hall of Fame as a tribute to the legacy of SHOF inductee Buddy Holly. The Holly Prize recognizes and supports the “all-in songwriter,” an exceptionally talented and inspired young musician/singer/songwriter whose work exhibits the true, great, and original qualities of Holly’s music and life. New Jersey native Laura Warshauer received the first Holly Prize in recognition of her accomplishments in what Regan McCarthy, Songmasters’ Senior Partner, described as the “triathlon of music” – that rare ability to write great songs, sing them superbly, and play the music exceptionally well at the same time. Songmasters will continue to sponsor the Holly Prize as a way to develop the talents and promote the careers of breakthrough “all-in-songwriters” through SHoF. Additional support for the SHOF will come from the Listen To Me: Buddy Holly recordings, in production under music great, Peter Asher. See SHoF Today news section for the full text of the June 9, 2010 press release.
See Laura perform at the award ceremony.